Minute of the East of Scotland Cricket Association Annual General Meeting

Held on Tuesday 22nd November 2016 at 7.30pm

At the Stewarts Melville Pavilion, Inverleith, Ferry Road, Edinburgh. EH5 2DW.

1: Roll Call.

There were 30 clubs represented and 16 absentee clubs.

2: Minutes the 2015 AGM and Matters Arising.

The meeting duly approved the Minute of the 2016 meeting. There were no issues arising that were not covered later on the agenda. Proposed by Chris Turnbull (Musselburgh) and seconded by Neil Granger (Marchmont).

3: President's Report.

The President spoke to the events of the last year. The full report is appended to these minutes.

4: Treasurer's Report.

The Treasurer was not present but had formally presented his annual report via email previously. These had been reviewed by Sandy Scotland and signed off as accurate. It was noted that the deficit was budgeted and due on most part to the speaker at the dinner and the increase in ball costs not passed on to clubs.

5: Youth Report.

Bill Polson presented a report on youth representative cricket for the year. The full report is appended to these minutes.

The meeting thanked Mr Polson for his commitment to youth cricket and all the work done across the various teams.

6: Motions From Clubs.

2 motions were reviewed and voted upon on the night, in line with the motions proposed and attached to the notice of AGM. Motion B was withdrawn prior to the AGM.

Motion A: Proposed by Edinburgh South; seconded by Livingston.

Motion to speed up the game was passed by 19 votes to 7. Several measures were put forward to quicken a game but only to be allowed by prior agreement between the teams. These will be reviewed and discussed by the committee in due course.

Motion B: Proposed by RHC; seconded by SMRH.

The motion was withdrawn prior to the AGM due to withdrawal of seconder.

Motion C: Proposed by Livingston; seconded by Edinburgh South.

Motion defeated 14 votes for and 12 against but it was agreed to try to monitor the finish time for games next season

7: League Structure & Rules.

It is the Committee's intention to have a complete review of the current Constitution and League rules and to have these available for the pre-season meeting (Special General meeting) of the clubs in 2017.

It would appear there is sufficient interest for a Standalone/Participation League and Scott Russell would put together the details and rules for this competition after consulting with the interested clubs.

The proposals/changes to the Masterton trophy would be revisited at the December committee meeting.

8. Election of Office Bearers

The meeting elected the following Office Bearers and Committee members as proposed by the Committee:-

- President: David Gibson (SMRH CC).
- Vice President: Neil Granger (Marchmont CC)
- Past President: Phil Yelland (Murrayfield/DAFS CC).
- Secretary: Jim Brims (Edinburgh South CC).
- Treasurer: Peter Kingsbury (Stuart and Stuart Penicuik CC).
- Junior Convener: TBC
- Competitions Convener: TBC

Committee members:

- Paul Bailey (Holy Cross CC),
- Graeme Donaldson (Tranent CC),
- Kevin Gallacher (Gala CC),
- David Potter (Falkland CC),
- Senthil Nathan (Morton CC),
- Greig Hopcroft (Glenrothes CC),
- Bill Polson (Edinburgh South CC),
- Ian Ramage (ESCOA) and
- Scott Russell (Tranent CC).

10. AOCB.

Kelso requested an update on the rules re Overseas players in the Championship with relation to age and number allowed. It was noted that these are in the current rules, with cut off age of 23 years.

Sandy Scotland advised that there would be a level 1 umpires' course on 4th/5th March costing £40 and an evening event for basic umpiring. Neil Granger suggested that consideration could be given to online format (e.g. webinar) in the future.

Neil Granger reminded clubs of the availability of Junior grants, noting that 2016 grant values were lower than 2015.